Kitchen Cabinets Finale

 

So in my last post, I walked you guys through the complete overhaul of the kitchen cabinets when my mom and I painted them white. It T R U L Y changed the entire look of the kitchen and had me wishing I had done them earlier.

But when we finished, we still had giant hole in the cabinets from where we had removed the built-in oven and didn’t have doors to cover it up.

I wanted to include pictures of the old oven, the giant spot and what our kitchen looked like for about 3 months so that you can really appreciate the process.

We had planned to create a pantry where the oven used to be and re-use doors from when we cut out the cabinets under the old cooktop stove. Andrew talked to a friend from church  and he said he could make us doors (from scratch) and that it would be easier than trying to jerry-rig the old doors to fit the spot. So we took him up on the offer and the process began!

……

………

…………

……………

TA-DA!!!!

IMG_6111

Aren’t these doors incredible? They match PERFECTLY! Not only are they beautiful and fit perfectly, they cover up the BEST PART….the HUGE pantry thats inside!

IMG_6112

I was so excited to fill up the pantry with some of the things that have been shoved into other cabinets. I was not excited, however, to have to get out all the painting supplies and go through the whole process again, because everyone knows that dealing with the supplies is the worst part.

So, here we go again.

Step 1: Remove the doors and hardware.

We had Andrew’s friend go ahead and hang the doors and put on the hardware because I was not about to mess these doors up by trying to do it ourselves. Because of that, I did have to go through the process of taking everything off, oh well, way worth the hassle.

Step 2: Use wood filler to fill in holes

The guy who made the doors/pantry had to drill in the shelves, so we had some holes that needed to be filled. I used Elmer’s ProBond wood filler. It was cheap, $2.98, and worked great. Fill in the hole, scrape off the excess, and then sand down when dry.

Screen Shot 2016-06-16 at 4.15.52 PM

Step 3: Sand down the doors and cabinet box.

For this, I used a 220 grit sandpaper and just sanded enough to scuff the the wood up.  After sanding, I washed the doors and cabinet box down with warm water and Dawn soap to remove any sanding residue.  I allowed the doors to dry for about an hour.

Step 4: Prime everything.

I used a good paint brush (I suggest Purdy or Wooster brand) and a small “no lint” roller to apply the primer. I only put on one coat this time since the wood was “naked” and a light color. I allowed the primer to dry for about and hour and flipped the doors over and primed the back of the doors. While I was waiting for one side to dry, I primed the inside of the cabinet box where the new shelves had been installed. They will also need to be painted white.

Step 5: Paint everything-again.

Just like the rest of the doors when we originally painted, I only gave the backs of the cabinet doors one coat.

After allowing to dry for a full day, I flipped the doors over and started painting the fronts of the doors. Just like last time, I had to pay attention to the details and be cautious of drips and runs. I painted a coat on the doors, went inside and painted a coat on the cabinet box.  I allowed about an hour to an hour and a half and started on the second coat on the cabinet doors, again, being careful to not have any drips or runs.

Once the second coat was on, I waited…an entire day.

Step 6: Put the hardware back on.

Make sure the paint is COMPLETELY dry.

Step 7: Hang the doors back up.

OH MY GOODNESS….this pantry is glorious and WOWZA, this kitchen looks fantastic!

DSC_0310

_________________________________________________________________

Project note:

I wanted to give you an update on how the cabinets are holding up since we have painted them: everything is awesome!

I was kinda worried that I would be paranoid about touching them or scratching them up, but the paint has held up wonderfully. Yes, they get dirty, especially the ones under my sink because I’m a hot mess when I’m washing dishes, but I just take my dish rag, wet it, and wipe down. SUPER EASY.

Leave a Reply

