Wood Paneling Blues

When we purchased our house, there were many things that I did not like that the old owner had done or not done (in some cases). One big thing I disliked was the wood paneling that was in the basement. Not only was it paneling, it looked like old barn wood, which would look awesome in the right house with the right decorations…not in our home. I had hoped to rip the paneling down and start fresh with a plain wall, but this was real wood paneling, which meant there was no drywall behind it. That was a project Andrew and I just did not feel up to right now….too big to be done in a few days.

2014-12-28 14.07.522014-02-17 19.46.32

Instead I decided to stain it a nice dark color and  I did a pretty sizable test patch. Well let me tell, that was a BUST. That paneling soaked the stain up like nobody’s business. When it dried you could not tell where I had stained at all. To say I was disappointed would be an understatement.

I left the basement to fend for itself for a few months, I just didn’t know what I was going to do to make the basement look and feel cozy. Then, we were given a 5 gallon bucket of soft cream paint from a friend and I decided to paint it! I again put the project off for another month or so because I knew it was going to be a hard project to complete.

This was one of the longest and hardest painting projects to date because the wood soaked up the paint, like I knew it would, and the whole project had to be painted by hand. The panels were separated by grooves that caused the roller to drip all over the place, thus making the roller obsolete.

 2014-12-26 17.13.55 2014-12-26 15.58.41

Surprisingly, the paint covered pretty well after the first coat, which only took about 4 hours for each wall and as you can tell by the photos below, the walls are not that big.

2014-12-26 20.32.192014-12-28 16.17.20

The second coat went on much smoother and made everything look much more polished. Such a difference!

2014-12-28 16.22.25

I can honestly say that this was definitely worth all the hard work that went into it! I am super pleased with how everything turned out!! I’m excited to continue to work to get the basement up to my standards, which includes replacing the sliding door with some french doors, a leather sectional, and a big ol’ television!

2014-12-31 16.56.00 2014-12-31 16.42.25

Anyone else had an experience with painting paneling? Any horror stories?

3 thoughts on “Wood Paneling Blues

Leave a Reply

