Placemat Throw Pillows

I have been on the hunt for MONTHS for some throw pillows for our bedroom and to decorate the couch we have in our basement. If you haven’t figured this out about me yet, I am CHEAP…when it comes to certain things and throw pillows just happened to be one of them.

In my mind, I should pay about $10 at the absolute most for something that really has no purpose than to just “dress up” a room. However, all designers and stores seem to think that their throw pillows are worth upwards of $25, which to me is insane when you think that I would like to purchase about five. $125 is too much for this teacher’s wallet for pillows.

I know, I know, you’re thinking, “Come on, just whip out the sewing machine and make those babies!” I had this thought too, however I don’t own a sewing machine, have little knowledge about using one alone, and have no idea how much fabric it takes to create things from scratch. I searched on Pinterest and found how to create a “no sew” pillow by covering an old one. Well, I didn’t have any old ones to cover and even the ugliest of pillows I found at Gabe’s, Marshall’s, Walmart, K-Mart, and pretty much anywhere else you can think of, were still $10, plus I still had to buy the fabric.

I had all but given up, when I remembered a conversation I had with my best friend about how her mom buys holiday placemats on sale and uses them to create holiday throw pillows for super cheap-she had even given me a super cute one this past fall. Now, her mom is super crafty and has sewn many a halloween costume through the years (like AWESOME ones) and I was a little weary that the sewing part would get me.

Still, I started looking for some cheaper placemats that could be used on our couch and Walmart did the trick. I bought these placemats for $2.47 a piece.

2014-06-10 09.49.57

For this project to work, its really important that the placemats be double layered-what I mean by that is that there is a piece of fabric on the front and one on the back and there is a stitch that connects the two together. You know they are double-layered if this is visible.

2014-06-10 09.50.06As long as you have those two layers, you can chose any pattern, material, or color of placemats. I used my scissors to tear out the stitches on one of the sides to make a pocket.

2014-06-10 10.35.12Then I used the stuffing I purchased at Walmart for $3.47 to fill the placemats up until they were fluffy (like a pillow).

2014-06-10 09.50.18 2014-06-10 10.35.22

Once the pocket was filled, I used pins to close it up and get it ready for sewing.2014-06-10 10.49.06

Thanks to my wonderful Mother-in-Law, I had borrowed her sewing machine and after watching approximately an hour of YouTube videos about setting up the machine and such, I started sewing those sides closed. Now, are the stitches straight? Nope. I do not claim to be the best seamstress, however, considering this was my first attempt, I was super pumped.

Here’s the final product. Pretty easy project that made a big impact! Our couch doesn’t have extremely large back cushions, so putting pillows all along the back of it seemed to work best for this particular couch.

2014-06-11 16.07.582014-06-11 16.08.39

So here’s my math breakdown (I am a math teacher after all):

Placemats- $2.47 (I used 8 of them) =19.76

Fiberfilling- $3.47 (20 oz fills 4 pillows, so I used 2) = 6.94

Total: $26.70 for 8 pillows

 

Needless to say, I will be using this to create a few more pillows for around the house. It was a super easy project that even a beginner sewer can complete in a few hours!

Have you used anything that is usually meant for something else as decoration in your house?

4 thoughts on “Placemat Throw Pillows

    • you could totally pull this off!! it was super duper easy! I have used a sewing machine one other time in my life and I had no problem doing this (other than getting the machine ready to go when I first started)

      But thank you, I’m so pleased with how they turned out! 🙂

      • I used to have a sewing machine but I have no idea where it is now…most likely at my grandmas with half of my other stuff I keep there. LOL. Paul and I made our own bedroom curtains but used the double sided tape you iron to seal them. They look pretty good. Next I want to try making a wreath!

      • I’m working my way to the curtains…they are next on my list,
        and girl, I am wreath making queen! you will have absolutely NO PROBLEM! I make a new one probably every month. I get most of my supplies for them at the dollar store of all places.

Leave a Reply

