Summer To-Do List

As most of you know, I got my first teaching job this past year and I couldn’t have been more thrilled. There is so much that I love about teaching, but one of the best things about being a teacher is summer vacation. Not only have I been looking for a job to help pass the time and bring in a little extra income, I’ve been making my home improvement to-do list! There are so many little things that I’ve been wanting to do but didn’t have time. Here’s my list:

1. Paint the ugliest room in our house.

Don’t believe me that its ugly? Here’s your proof…

2014-06-01 12.43.57       2014-06-01 12.44.05

This bedroom needs the terrible Earth wallpaper border removed and a coat of Kilz Primer over the even more terrible blue paint job. I plan to use a neutral color on the walls that will match the current furniture and that can easily be changed when we need to.

2. Paint the second ugliest room in our house.

2014-06-01 12.44.23   2014-06-01 12.44.37

Remember when I painted the kitchen that had the two different shades of yellow? Well the previous owners used the darker yellow to paint the entire second bedroom and then added a “swirl” effect with the lighter color. It is always daylight in that room.

3. Paint the basement and the basement hallway.

2014-06-01 12.46.01          2014-06-01 12.45.40

This project should be relatively easy. I am planning on using the same color we used in the living room that way as we get the money to purchase the furniture we want (I want a brown leather sectional couch) for the basement, it will coordinate with whatever we choose and the paint color will flow from room to room throughout the house.

4. Stain the wood paneling in the basement. 2014-06-01 12.46.11Two of the basement walls are covered in this real wood paneling that looks weathered. While I don’t mind the paneling, I HATE that it looks weathered-I think it should be in a barn. I plan to stain it a dark brown color to coordinate with the Cafe colored walls and brown brick fireplace. I hope that this will bring a warm, cozy feeling to our ICE BOX of a basement.

5. Replace the light fixtures in the basement hallway.

2014-06-01 12.45.52

I mentioned in an earlier post how our home still holds onto some of its 80’s vibes and these light fixtures are one of them. We bought replacements when we first moved in and replaced the main hallway lights. We just kept pushing this project to the back burner because it wasn’t as important as other things, but it will get done this summer!

6. Paint and put up shutters on the house/Paint the front door

 2014-06-01 12.49.38

I honestly could not be more pleased with how well the outside looks! The landscaping turned out fantastic and Andrew has been working really hard to get the yard to look nice. I plan to paint the shutters a cream and the front door a light blue and this will really lighten the house up.

7. Replace the blue curtains showing through the basement doors. These have needed replaced, however, have not been super important. I hate the way the blue looks, but once we get the cream shutters up, I plan to replace them with some sort of cream linen curtains.

I thought writing this post would overwhelm me, but these projects are going to make the house look so much better and become even more homey. How do you plan to spend your time this summer?

 

2 thoughts on “Summer To-Do List

Leave a Reply

