Thursday, work day

As you all know, this week has been Spring Break for the schools and I was happy to have some projects to work on…because I’m not very good at relaxing. 

In my last post, I shared our kitchen shelves and talked about needing some art work to fill the other blank wall. While wasting time on eBay, I came across some vintage Hallmark kitchen posters. They came in a set of four and were all 8×10 in size. I knew they would be perfect! The best part…they were $1.87 for the whole set. At that price, they had to be mine. I ordered them and they got here 2 days later. Since they were just prints, I knew they needed to be framed and I just wanted plain black frames, nothing fancy. So I headed to our local Dollar Tree and purchased 4 black frames for $4.24. I couldn’t wait to get the frames home and get the prints inside them. I was VERY pleased with how they turned out and the best part, the whole project was less than $10!

ImageImage

That was my small Thursday project, but I have been working on a big project the last 3 days…painting the living room/entry way/hallway Cafe to get rid of the drab white. I have been dreading this project because its huge and I knew would take a long time. 

Let’s start with the entry way….

Our entry way is not huge in size, but because the house is a split level, its a nice size landing that needs to make an impression. The ceilings are an incredible 15 ft. and nearly impossible to paint. I started by standing on a 10ft ladder on the very top.

**Disclaimer…don’t try this at home**

Image

Image

It was really scary and I hated every second of it, but the walls had to be cut in so I could roller the rest without worrying about the ceiling. I didn’t move, didn’t breathe and got it done…sadly, I had to do two coats, but it eventually got finished. The rest was fairly simple. I used a pole to extend the roller to reach the top and it got the job done. Just 2 coats and it made a WORLD of a difference. I bought a really cool bronze sign that quotes Joshua 24:15 “As for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.” Its simple, but a good reminder that as we leave our home, we represent Christ and all that he has done for us.

ImageBecause you can’t tell anything about my nice paint job in the pictures, I took a picture standing in the living room so you could see the living room wall I haven’t finished yet, in comparison to my nice Cafe wall. The warm tones make such a difference. (PS: Don’t judge the not finished paint job…its tomorrow’s project)

Image

The hallway….

This was a tedious job. There are 7 doorways in this hallway (3 bedrooms, bathroom, 2 closets, and the kitchen entry way) that all had to be cut in with a brush. This took a lot of time, but when it came to using the roller, this project was super easy since most of the hallway couldn’t be done with the roller. I’m pleased with how it turned out…pictures will be the next thing to go up.Image

The living room…

Well this room still isn’t finished, I was just too tired today to finish it off. I still have 2 walls to complete in here, but that required moving furniture and I think that can be saved until tomorrow. Today, I painted the main wall and the half-wall that runs along the stairs (pictured above with the chairs). Again, the paint just made the room feel warmer and not so stark and I’m excited to get it completed tomorrow. Pictures are definitely needed in the living room and I’m planning on enlarging one of mine and Andrew’s wedding photos to go on this wall.

ImageTomorrow’s work day is going to need to start early since my goal is to get the living room finished because I’m going to see HUNTER HAYES in concert tomorrow night. Could there be a more perfect way to end spring break?! 

2 thoughts on “Thursday, work day

Leave a Reply

