Moving on Up

Image

One week and one day ago, Andrew and I closed on our house on Robin Lane. After a week of painting and cleaning, we spent all day on Saturday moving in our furniture. We were blessed with our timing because my grandparents are currently in the “down-sizing” phase of their life and they GENEROUSLY gave us most of their furniture. Because we had so much furniture to move in, we hired professional movers, and boy…was that the best idea ever!

The movers started at 1pm and left our new house at 7pm, but I know it would have taken twice as long had we tried to move it together.

Luckily, we had had a ton of help from our parents and friends to paint the master and dining room (see previous post Paint. Paint. and more Paint) and were able to get those rooms pretty much completed after the furniture was moved in. Its awesome to have 2 rooms that really don’t need that much attention when I look around to all the rooms that do.

We have all the furniture into place and will let the current paint job suffice until I get up the nerve/time to get started on painting the other rooms. Spring break for me is in about 9 days, so I’m hoping I can con my mom into taking at least 1 of her days off to help me paint the living room/entry way/hallway of the first floor.

What’s funny about moving into this house is that it is located across the street from the house I grew up in on Forest Drive. Whats even funnier than that is that Andrew and I moved in almost exactly 21 years (to the day) after my parents moved into that house. We moved in on the 22nd of Feb. and they moved in on the first weekend in March….so we were about a week off. But wait, it gets better….when my parents moved in, it had been 60 degrees that day, but one week later we had the Blizzard of 1993 that put 28 inches of snow on the ground. The day Andrew and I moved in, it was 60 degrees and today (Wednesday Feb. 26) I am currently enjoying a Snow Day from school with a chance of a nice big snow storm this upcoming week. My mom and I have had a great time discussing the similarities of our situation.

Today I’m hoping to get a few things done around the house, but no major changes will happen until Spring Break.

Stay tuned.

Image

3 thoughts on “Moving on Up

Leave a Reply

